Neighbours music

Neighbours music

Postby Screencomposer » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:59 am

Hi folks.

My name is Garry Hardman and I'm a composer living in Sydney Australia. I had the privilege of writing some libraries of music , along with co-composers Brian Beamish and Peter Benson, back in the late 80's for use by Grundys in their Soap "Neighbours". It was a lot of fun, but also hard in a way, because we didn't know how storylines would develop in future episodes, so we had to write a lot of music in various moods without knowing how it would fit those future episodes.

If anyone has any questions on music from the show during the mid/late 80's, I'll be more than pleased to try and answer them. Grundys placed a lot of importance in the musical side of their productions, which made a pleasant change to some other Production Companies that just used music to "fill holes" and give some credence to an otherwise mundane scene.

Best wishes,
Garry
Screencomposer

Re: Neighbours music

Postby RamsayStreet » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:27 pm

Thanks Garry and welcome to the board!

Did you have any involvement in the piano versions of the theme that were used in the early days?
"The reason why Neighbours has flourished for so long is that at the heart of it there are people who care for one another." J Woodburne

Neighbours, squashed tomatoes and potatoes, with Harold in the kitchen, you can find the Perfect Blend
RamsayStreet

Postby Screencomposer » Sat Mar 03, 2018 12:43 am

Hi Ramsay Street, (sorry, I don't know your name).